About Us


LYIT celebrated its 40th anniversary in 2011.  Originally established as the Donogh O’Malley Regional Technical College, the Institute has evolved to become a comprehensive third level college.  It was renamed Letterkenny Institute of Technology (LYIT) in 1998.  In addition, the Tourism College in Killybegs (established in 1969 and renamed in 1992) became an academic school of LYIT in 2007.

The Institute has gone from strength to strength through an impressive capital development programme allied to an expansion in the range and level of programmes now offered.  All academic programmes up to Level 9 on the National Qualifications Framework are offered by LYIT under delegated authority from HETAC (the Higher Education & Training Awards Council).

The Institute is currently implementing its Strategic Plan 2014 – 2017 and, in conjunction with the evolving national higher education strategy, LYIT is determined to maintain its strong standing in the Irish higher education system. 

The organisation structure for LYIT is set out below:
LYIT Structure

 Please have a look at the Gateways to the right on this website for more information on life at LYIT.

Updated: Tue, 25 Oct 2016 12:45:46 BST