• » Certificate in Acute Medicine

    Programme Title  Certificate in Acute Medicine
    CAO Code  Add On Programme – Not available through CAO
    LYIT internal code  LY_NACTN_C
    Duration  2 Intakes: January & September -12 weeks blended learning
    Standard Code Places:  
    National Framework Level  Level 8
    Award Type  Special Purpose Award
    Awarding Body  LYIT, under Delegated Authority from QQI
    Is this Course for You?
    Acute medicine as a speciality has developed rapidly over the last number of years both nationally and internationally.  It is defined as part of general (internal) medicine concerned with the immediate and early specialist management of adult patients who present to or from within hospitals as urgencies or emergencies (RCoP 2007).  Given the acuity of patients who present to Acute Medical Assessment Units (AMAU’s) and Medical Assessment Units (MAU’s) it is recognised that there is a need to develop additional clinical expertise among acute medicine nurses.  
    In light of this a consortium of six Institutes of Technology (AIT, DkIT, GMIT, LYIT, IT Tralee, and WIT) has been commissioned by the Office of the Nursing and Midwifery Services Director (ONMSD) H.S.E. to deliver a Level 8 Special Purpose Award in Acute Medicine Nursing for nurses working in AMAUs, MAUs and Emergency Departments.  The aim of the programme is to enable acute medicine nurses to develop their knowledge and skills in the assessment and management of acutely ill adults.
    This programme supports the commitment made by ONMSD H.S.E. in association with the National Acute Medicine Programme, to provide clinical education for nurses working in Acute Medicine Units, Acute Medical Assessment Units, Medical Assessment Units and Acute Medical Short Stay Units (collectively referred to as AMU’s).
    Course Delivery:
    The course will be delivered over 12 weeks using a blended learning approach.  Courses will start in January and September each year.  The first course commencing Wednesday 27th September 2017 is restricted to CNM 2’s, CNM 1’s and Clinical Facilitators only. Places are limited but secured with DON approval and subject to service needs & demands.
    Minimum Entry Requirements:
    RGN with NMBI on General Register and have completed a BSc Honours in General Nursing, Level 8
    Course Content:
    • Holistic patient assessment and clinical decision making;
    • Cardiovascular, respiratory, neurological and gastrointestinal systems;
    • Acute and chronic renal failure;
    • Fluid and electrolyte management;
    • The older person presenting with delirium and dementia;
    • Type 1 & 2 diabetes;
    • Tissue viability;
    • Acute and chronic pain management;
    •  Psychological impact of illness;
    • Stress management and future development needs. 
    HSE funded
    Who Should Apply:
    • Registered General Nurses
    • Currently employed in a HSE or HSE funded AMU or Emergency Department / Local Injury Unit for the duration of the programme
    • Priority will be given to HSE and HSE funded acute hospital nursing staff currently employed in an AMU
    • Nurses from non HSE and HSE funded organisations who work in AMU’s or Emergency Departments / Local Injury Unit may be offered a place on the course subject to meeting the course entry criteria and the availability of places
    Application Procedure:
    Applicants should apply directly to one of the six Institutes of Technology.  Evidence of the following must be provided by each applicant:
    • Approval from the applicants line manager (ADoN or above) to participate in the course
    • Confirmation that the applicant will be employed in an AMU (or ED/LIU as appropriate) for the duration of the programme
    • Confirmation that a suitably qualified clinical practice supervisor is available to assessment and support the applicant during the course
    • Closing Date Friday 25th August 2017 by 5pm.
    • Acute Medicine Applicant - Form 
    • Contact Louise McBride, Head of Department of Nursing & Health Studies by 
    • Telephone: (074) 9186303
    • E- Mail: Louise.McBride@lyit.ie
    Alternative partner IOTs:
    Dr Pearse Murphy, Head of Department, Athlone Institute of Technology (pmurphy@ait.ie)
    Dr Myles Hackett, Head of Department, Dundalk Institute of Technology (myles.hackett@dkit.ie)
    Mr Justin Kerr, Head of Department, Galway Mayo Institute of Technology (justin.kerr@gmit.ie)
    Ms Gerardina Harnett, Head of Department, Institute of Technology Tralee (Gerardina.Harnett@staff.ittralee.ie)
    Dr Suzanne Denieffe, Head of Department, Waterford Institute of Technology (sdenieffe@wit.ie)