LYIT presents Sports Scholarships 2016

Sports Scholarships 2016The President of LYIT Paul Hannigan presented 19 Scholarships to full time students of the Institute at this year's Sports Scholarship Awards event on Monday last (22 February 2016).  In his address to the well-attended lunch time audience, the President urged the winners to share in the moment of their award and also to further validate the award by remaining true to their exemplary standards.  He also remarked on the progress of the teams , both in Soccer and GAA, who both narrowly missed out on success last week, in the case of the Soccer team, it was defeat at the hand of Dundalk IT in the League 1 Final.  In GAA, the LYIT team bowed out at semi -final stage, in GAA Trench Cup. 

The parents of the winners, many of whom travelled long distances to be in attendance, were thanked by the President for having set aside time to be part of  the achievement for the 19 winning recipients.  He concluded on a cautionary note to all the sports scholars referring to the need to maintain the balance between sport and academic requirements, which has become a part of the LYIT Sports Scholarship standard.

The Sports Scholarships went to:

Simon Archer, Gorey, Co Wexford (Athletics)
John Kelly, St Johnston (Athletics)
Daire McDaid, An Tearmann (Soccer)
Paul McVeigh, Portsalon (Soccer)
Fearghal Harkin, Clonmany (Soccer)
Anthony Appiah, Letterkenny (Soccer)
Jack Quinn, Lifford (GAA)
William Gillespie, Newtowncunningham (GAA)
Caolan McDaid, An Tearmann (GAA)
Shaun McGlynn, Ballybofey (Soccer Coach)
Patrick McGrenaghan, Culdaff (Soccer Coach)
Conal Johnston (GAA Coach)
Colin Clerkin, Castleblaney, Co Monaghan (GAA Coach)
Shannon McDonald, Greencastle (Ladies GAA)
Sarah Jane McDonald, Greencastle (Ladies GAA)
Liam Dorrian, Letterkenny (Basketball)
Mark Quigley, Monaghan (Rugby)
Sean McVeigh, Letterkenny (Hurling)
Gearoid O'Connor, Kilmuckridge, Co Wexford (Hurling).

Wed, 09 Mar 2016 16:52:00 GMT


Search staff directories & news